You got some ‘splaining to do…

The internets are full of blogs, many of which are maintained by celebrities and other respectable-type folks.  Regular folks like me read those to be told what and how to think (or sometimes just to be entertained).  So why, after so long, is this one just being created?  What’s with the name?  (And so on.)

First, the reason it’s just being created is because my old home was destroyed.  For almost 3 years, I posted at the Specialized Rider’s Club, a social networking hub owned and operated by Specialized Bicycle Components.  Recently, Specialized decided that the Rider’s Club needed to be reinvented and all of the social aspects of the site were eliminated.  Fortunately, I was able to save all my content from that site and will repost it here from time to time.  So that’s why I’m here.

Why the “Race of Truth”?  I needed something that I felt communicated all of the main aspects of my life.  First and foremost, I am a born-again believer in Jesus Christ.  I consider the Bible to be God’s “special revelation” to man and to be Truth (with a capital ‘T’).  Secondly, I am a husband and father, attempting to lead my family in the ways of God’s truth.  Thirdly, I am a lecturer at Michigan Technological University where I instruct undergraduate electrical and computer engineering students in the world’s truth.  And finally, I am a cyclist (of all sorts of disciplines), and the individual time trial is often called the “Race of Truth”, for there is no hiding in the pack, no drafting.  There is only the bike, the rider and the truth of time.  So “truth” is the common thread in my life.

The blog will normally focus on the bicycle aspect of all of this, though I will feel more comfortable delving into other topics here than I did at the Rider’s Club.  I am looking forward to my option of exploring other areas of my life too, since writing has proven to be very cathartic in some trying or confusing circumstances.

I don’t expect to be famous, I don’t expect anybody but my wife to actually read this.  But I will write and I will enjoy it.  And the first real post, regarding my weekend at the Chequamegon Fat Tire Festival, should be up later today.  I hope that if anybody does read this, they will enjoy coming on this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

