The Designer

I was reading an article this morning about the benefits of barefoot running, analyzing the science behind the method.  A sentence the author wrote really caught my attention:

Your feet and ankles are working much harder, doing what is probably their job, what they are designed for, but they haven’t done it for many years, perhaps a lifetime!

He was talking about how a runner transitioning from fancy motion-controlling shoes with gobs of padding to thinner-soled shoes (and the accompanying change in running style) is going to be struggling with the change.  But what caught me was that bit in the middle.  It’s almost buried, so let me highlight it for you:

Your feet and ankles are working much harder, doing what is probably their job, what they are designed for, but they haven’t done it for many years, perhaps a lifetime!

If something has been designed, there must be a designer, right?

Here’s another quote:

From the creation of the world His invisible attributes, that is, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what He has made.

That’s Romans 1:20 (HCSB), with my emphasis added.  Somehow I doubt the author of the first quote has a deep faith in a benevolent Creator of the Judeo-Christian bent.  But understand his unspoken assumption: A system that is so fit for a task must be designed!  And like I mentioned before, something that has been designed implies a designer.

I have no delusions that this is undeniable proof that the God of the Bible created the world.  But to me, it’s crystal clear.  These systems don’t just synthesize themselves.  We bear the thumbprints of the one who designed us and who made us and who loves us.

Two last quotes to finish this one off:

 I will praise You,
because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made.
Your works are wonderful,
and I know this very well.
Psalm 139:19 (HCSB)

How could I say there is no God,
When all around creation calls?
“Creation Calls” by Brian Doerksen

 

Leave a Reply

