Making People Happy

I was sitting here at my desk when a tweet from Jeremy Powers came across MetroTwit:

@JeremyPowers: RT @ClintonSparks: All I want to do is make people happy. Even if you hating on me makes you happy. I’m okay with it. Happiness is the goal.

At first I was in complete agreement.  That’s my nature.  I am non-confrontational, I am Switzerland.  I have to say this doesn’t benefit me during the first lap of a cyclocross race, but there’s another aspect of life that suffers from this attitude as well.

If people are going to see their need for Jesus, you have to take them to a bad place first.  It doesn’t matter if it’s a sense of guilt for past sins or a sense of distance from a loving Creator or a sense of hopelessness and futility from a life that has no purpose — it’s still about being broken down so that you can be lifted up.  Look at the rich young ruler who comes to Jesus full of pride.  He wasn’t saved.  Contrast that with Zacchaeus, who was well and truly humbled.

God blesses the peacemakers, certainly.  But there’s more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than 99 who don’t need to repent.  I pray I can remember that.

Leave a Reply

